Art of Remembering at Dock Museum + a discovery

The Art of Remembering exhibition has moved on to its next venue.  I’ve been up in Cumbria for a couple of days installing my Sweethearts & Sandbags piece.  Rebuilding the sandbag wall proved more difficult as so many of the bags had begun to deteriorate.  The bags are full of dark red builders sand, not the lovely beach variety, so it was a dirty, messy, heavy job.  It’s all up now though and looking great in the exhibition space at the Dock Museum, Barrow in Furness.

The Museum is fascinating, built on several floors within a massive dry dock – from the outside it looks small and unimposing, inside it is tardis-like and rather stunning.  My Dad was a submariner and based in Barrow when I was a child so it was fascinating for me to look at some of the shipbuilding artefacts and submarine related artefacts.

installing sweethearts at Dock Museum1

installation in progress at The Dock Museum

Meanwhile I had another search for an image of a bust of my Great Grandfather, David Ferguson Hunter VC, by Jacob Epstein.  I’ve known for a long time that it existed.  It was made after WWI but I’d never been able to track down a photograph – until today that is.  One of the great things about the centenary of the war is the amount of information being uploaded onto the internet.  As far as I know the sculpture belongs to the Imperial War Museum but I don’t think it’s on display.

It’s an astonishing piece of work – to be honest I was quite stunned by it.  Hopefully I’ll get to see it in reality one day.

david ferguson hunter by Epstein

David Ferguson Hunter by Jacob Epstein.

About morwennacatt

Artist / designer / illustrator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

